Skip To Main Content

THE ROLE OF THE SCHOOL COMMITTEES 

The School Committees act as the agents of the Commonwealth in the operation of educational facilities within its jurisdiction.  They are responsible for the fulfillment of statutory mandates and the acceptance or rejection of permissive legislation.  In any and all cases not otherwise determined by statute or regulation of the Board of Education, the Committees consider themselves the responsible agencies in the establishment and appraisal of educational activities in the public schools of the District, with the advice of the Superintendent and the will of the people always taken into consideration.

 The duties of the Committees include but are not limited to:

  • Determination of all questions of policy and procedure that pertain to education in the district.
  • Establishment and maintenance of schools and educational curriculum and programs deemed desirable to meet the educational needs of the students in the District.

  • Selection, appointment, supervision and annual evaluation of a Superintendent of Schools.

  • Approval of performance standards for teachers and administrators.

  • Establishment and transmittal to the towns of an annual budget sufficient to adequately meet the educational needs of the students.

  • Adoption of textbooks as recommended by the Superintendent of Schools.

  • Approval of architectural plans for all new school buildings and/or additions.

  • Establishment and maintenance of a school transportation program for students residing in Marion, Mattapoisett and Rochester, in accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

  • Negotiations with employee organizations concerning salary and conditions of work.

  • Review of School Policy
     

School Committee inquiries may be submitted to Melissa Wilcox, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent |Email|(508) 758-2772 ext. 1956

Meeting Resources

Select a tab to review meeting resources.

May 2024
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Apr 28
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Wed, May 1
Thu, May 2
Fri, May 3
Sat, May 4
Sun, May 5
Mon, May 6
Tue, May 7
Wed, May 8
Thu, May 9
Fri, May 10
Sat, May 11
Sun, May 12
Mon, May 13
Tue, May 14
Wed, May 15
Thu, May 16
Fri, May 17
Sat, May 18
Sun, May 19
Mon, May 20
Tue, May 21
Wed, May 22
Thu, May 23
Fri, May 24
Sat, May 25
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1